All times are UTC

It is currently Thu Sep 19, 2024 10:54 pm

Post subject: Eyes
PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:13 am 
Kinsman
Kinsman

Hey I have had this problem ever since i started painting,,,,i just can't paint eyes. I tried the ways in the Tomes of Wisdom but they didnt help much,,if it helps you in helping me the figures im painting are the high elves from TLA. Thanks.

Post subject: Re: Eyes
PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:22 am 
Ringwraith
Ringwraith

Eyes are always a pain, even to the more talented painters. I've never been able to get them right, the closest I think I've ever gotten is on my most recently painted Faramir (Ranger) mini.

I can only really give you the advice that is already there in the Tomes of Wisdom articles, use a tiny brush, get the smallest dot of paint on the brush and try and keep a really steady hand. Try practising over and over again on unwanted miniatures as you might find it helps. Also try and practise different methods of painting the eye (black dot over white, white edges over black etc).

That's probably not much help, but like I said the articles are probably the best tutorials for painting eyes, so if they didn't work, you just need to keep practising the method untill you get the hang of it (which I still haven't gotten the hang of so don't get too frustrated if you don't get it straight away).

Good luck!

PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2011 1:35 am 
Kinsman
Kinsman

i find that just one eye isn't too difficult, its getting two that don't look cross eyed or different sizes thats tricky.

one thing i find helps is to look at the models face upsidedown once both eyes are painted because for some reason its easier to see differences between them then. it probably sounds really weird and stupid but it helps me when im trying to get both eyes to match up. :s