All times are UTC

It is currently Sun Jul 07, 2024 12:00 pm

Post subject: Using alternatives?
PostPosted: Thu Dec 05, 2013 9:15 pm 
Wayfarer
Wayfarer

Hey all!

So I've been sitting on my finished Uruk-Hai hordes for a few months now and I'm itching to play as some Good guys. After trying my damnedest to squeeze as much Strength 4 (S4 or bust says I!) out of the fiddly human folk I've finally come to grips I'm only going to be fielding S3 and settled on the Fiefdoms (With some mixed in Gondor and perhaps Arnor) themed on the Men of Dale (As my younger brother has gobloads of Easterlings to throw at me I thought it would be appropriate).

However, I don't want to invest in the expensive official miniatures. Nor do I particularly like the molds for many of the Fiefdom infantry. Considering that the LOTR figures are sculpted by none other than the Perry Bros, I realize that using their or many other historical miniature lines would land me with perfectly scaled (And more importantly cheaper figures of equal quality or better) miniatures. However, I don't want to completely annihilate the fluff out of the game.

Thankfully however, I stumbled across quite a bit of pre-movie artwork and I quite like the dedicated low-fantasy of the kingdoms of men. Particularly that of the pre-Hobbit Men of Dale (Who are essentially Norman knights). So after all this blathering, I really only have a few questions:

How do you feel about alternate figures themed on the LOTR fluff strictly from the book? Would you sneer at seeing Norman knights bedecked in blue and bearing the symbol of the black arrow? Or perhaps footslogging, plate-armored warriors from the War of the Roses hefting halberds to take the place of Axemen of Lossnarch?