All times are UTC

It is currently Sun Oct 06, 2024 6:27 am

Post subject: 1000 point Dol Amroth army help!
PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2012 5:26 pm 
Wayfarer
Wayfarer

Hello all,
Im a newbie to the forum and am looking for your help.
I really like the look of the Dol Amroth and ideally need a huge 1000 point army based around them, I need a list that isn't too pricey, not exceeding the 175 quid mark! so I might chuck in some rangers and swap their heads for some swan heads from ebob.
Anyway any ideas and any strategies for the Dol Amroth will be appreciated!
Cheers!
 Post subject: Re: 1000 point Dol Amroth army help!
PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2012 6:44 pm 
Loremaster
Loremaster

There isn't much choice if you opt for a force completely made up from Dol Amroth, as they only have knights, men at arms, Imrahil and captains. They have no bows or any form of ranged combat, so they are a force that needs to be allied with another faction (probably Gondor).

Hope this helps,

LordElrond
PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2012 6:45 pm 
Ringwraith
Ringwraith

I expect I'll be saying this a lot as the Hobbit brings in new players :)

You'll get further if you provide a list of your own and ask for comments. It takes time to make a good list. I'm not sure about other games, but SBG isn't one where people have *the* list for a faction at a certain point level, there are a hundred ways to skin this cat.

That said, Fiefdoms is mostly metal/finecast, it's going to be pricey unless you proxy/convert almost everything. If you're going fiefdoms centered on Dol Amroth, Imrahil is a must because his banner effect is huge. After that, they've kind of taken some of the punch out of Fiefdoms with the change in the Kingdoms of Men book. Also, with the new Hobbit rules, pikes must back up pikes. So you can no longer make a "ranger sandwich", i.e. backing up foot KoDA with rangers and then men-at-arms. And the BV archers you can take aren't allowed spears.