All times are UTC

It is currently Mon Jul 08, 2024 8:32 am

Post subject: Another suggestion for new archery
PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 9:08 pm 
Craftsman
Craftsman

I was thinking about the archery again and wondering if there is a part house rule solution. I'm not very good at specifics, but was interested in your learned opinions!

Rangers and other troops that have special movement skills (like through trees or rocks or whatever) are obviously meant to be good at moving. Perhaps they could ignore the -1 penalty for shooting and moving? That would sort of keep their special niche use as outflankers etc.

Whatcha think as a house rule?

Post subject: Re: Another suggestion for new archery
PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 9:10 pm 
Elven Warrior
Elven Warrior

I think that makes much more sense than GW's decision to render archery pretty much useless... Sounds like the basis for a good set of houserules in my view :) I'm not that much of a gamer though so would be interesting to see what some of the battle-hardened vets of this site think :)

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 9:34 pm 
Elven Elder
Elven Elder

My group is just doing away with the "-1 if you move" thing completely. We are leaving volley fire out to sort of make up for it, but we never really used that anyway.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 10:01 pm 
Elven Warrior
Elven Warrior

If you come to think about it though, the penalty in shooting if one moves, is something completely believable and realistic. It would indeed be more difficult for someone to aim while running/marching/walking. The penalty does not disallow shooting, it just makes it harder to hit your target.

Yet, in spite of believing the rule to be a realistic representation of archery, I would still prefer not to include it in my games.
PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 10:08 pm 
Elven Elder
Elven Elder