All times are UTC

It is currently Sun Jun 16, 2024 2:16 am

Post subject: GW's Realm of Battle - so easy, even I can do it!
PostPosted: Sat Jul 30, 2011 6:03 am 
Kinsman
Kinsman

Hello all,

Wanted to show some photos of my completed Realm of Battle board. I wanted a large area with several ways to configure the terrain, so I purchased enough to make 9 boards, plus a few extra hills.

I am not an expert modeller, and was at first intimidated by the board and having to paint it. After a few reads online, both here and at the GW site, I decided to give it a try. I purchased materials at the local GW store, Micheals, Home Depot, and .99 cent store. The following are the steps I took in doing the nine boards.

1. I did not want the little skulls to show in the craters so I applied cement patch to these, covering up the skulls. I then added some small rocks. Once this dried I went to step 2.

2. Instead of taking the time to paint the board brown by hand, I went down to Home Depot and purchased three cans of dark brown Rust-Oleum spray paint for plastics, and a can of black. With these I sprayed the rock areas black and all the rest brown.

3. Next, I did the rocks. For this I mixed black a white (creamcoat) paints and made three shades of gray: dark, mid, and light. With these I drybrushed over the black areas. I used a small household paint brush with a 2" head to do this, which sped the process.

4. Next, I drybrushed an Ochre color (creamcoat) over all the brown, using the same brush as above. This took lots of "elbow grease" to get done.